Some things about moi.

October 10, 2006

These are some things that I hope you’d find interesting about yours truly…

1. I graduated in highschool as class valedictorian and I owe it all to one great teacher of mine whom I had a big crush on. Somehow, being inspired to go to class everyday and have her impressed by aiming high on every aspect of acads helped. We were such good friends, I miss hours of chatting with her about lots of stuff. Last time I saw her was a year ago, in a mall. She seemed to be a lot happier than the last time we met. I’m glad she’s alright.

2. I remember someone telling me that the most sensitive part of me is my heart, and it’s true. If you really want to make me sad, ignore me. I get to question my worth so easily whenever it is compromised. However, if you want to get me really pissed off, you can’t. Somehow, I have this skill of easily shaking off whatever is bugging me for the moment.

3. I’m a big fan of RPG games, but I only play them on Playstation 2. This started with Final Fantasy VIII. I play console games not only for the sake of the game itself, but for the story, too. I think RPGs Japan-made are much more artistic and surreal than those from the US. Currently, I’m juggling playtime between Final Fantasy XII and Kingdom Hearts II. Imagine someone reading two novels of entirely different plots at the same time!

4. There are only three days I always really look forward to every year: Christmas, Valentine’s Day and my birthday. Christmas always remind me of my Dad and how a child stays in us even as we get older every year. The happiest day of my life was October 13, 2001. My wifey, then my girlfriend, gave me a surprise birthday party on a nearby resort. I shed tears of joy for the first time and felt like the king of the world that night.

5. This may sound so sissy, but it’s true: The first time I heard The Little Mermaid’s “Part of Your World”, I cried. Hahaha!

6. I only say thanks whenever I pray. I rarely ask for something. I believe that whatever happens is what God has willed it to be. We can’t really ask for anything, since God has provided everything that we need in this world. We may see things as good or bad for us, but really, there is no good or bad for anyone- every person receives what God really knows is necessary. This is why whenever I say my prayer, it’s always is about being grateful for what I have in life. If I do ask for something, I don’t pray as if God has to comply to it. It’s just to tell God that this is what I would like to have, but if it isn’t part of His grand plan, then it’s okay. I think I began adapting this concept of prayers after reading “Conversations with God” by Neale Donald Walsch. Too bad I wasn’t able to finish the book because of some reason I can’t remember. (Can anyone tell me where to get the Book 1?)

7. Although I have a few of them, friends are who I treasure more than anything else in the world. Their sincerity gives color to my life. I’d give everything that I have whenever needed. I’m the happiest whenever they are by my side in the most cruel of times. My sincerity towards them, though, are sometimes misinterpreted. But I don’t mind as long as they understand who and what they are to me in the end. Although I consider a lot of people as my friends- my brothers, my close friends at work, my friends from highschool and college and many others- my bestest of best friends is my beloved, Ethel. She knows me more than anyone else in the world, and knows how to deal with every aspect of it.

8. I’ve had my share of crime and illegal stuff in my early teen years. Dared by peers, I once shoplifted in one of those big malls in QC. I was also a professional hacker during my early college days. Those were the days when unlimited dialup internet access was made available to the public for the first time. We went searching for unlimited access using users’ accounts using our online tools and we make sure we don’t get caught by using them when we know they’re not in the office or at home. Oh we were bad then, but it felt good… until we felt guilty one day, of course, and decided to just quit it.

9. I love to travel, may it be with friends or just alone with a bag filled with things that I need. Somehow, riding my car, a train, or a speeding bus on it’s way to a very far place brings calmness to my soul. The first time I did a serious meditation and soul-searching was in Baguio- I was looking at the horizon on top of a very high place during sunrise. It felt like God was greeting me “Good morning, son!” that moment.

10. I finished AB Philosophy in college, but I’m more into IT. I should have taken BS Computer Engineering, although this does not qualify as a big regret for me. I thought Rizal and most Social Sciences subjects in Bulacan State University, where I realized I have a passion to teaching. I have always looked forward to a chance to teach again someday after my BSU days. Being a teacher is the most rewarding profession of all- the benefits go beyond the financial, indeed.

11. I may have already mentioned this- I dream of living in New York City. Although I have not been there yet, to me, NYC is the greatest city in the world. However, if I do get passed 60, I’d like to spend my dying days with Ethel either in any of the following places: New Zealand, Canada or just at home with my closest friends and relatives.

12. They say I’m a man of many talents, and I find many are amazed by what I can do but most are not aware of. Actually, those talents I learned not by necessity, but because I love to make the world know whatever it is on my mind and in my soul. You can take a look at my deviantart site and you’ll see that most of what I’ve drawn are actually things and persons closest to me. Hear the songs I play on the piano, and all of them are songs sang by my heart. I write about things that only cover much about my life. I’m blessed with many means of expressing myself, and I’m always thankful to God for these rare gifts.

With these in mind, I greet myself HAPPY BIRTHDAY (on Friday, that is.)

Leave a Reply

